European Tour

European Tour - Race To Dubai

Luke Donald won the 2011 European Tour after finishing third in the Dubai World Championships. The World Number One needed a top-nine finish to claim top spot in the money list and he did this with ease, hitting a 16 under total.

The Harry Vardon Trophy is awarded to the highest placed money winner on the European PGA tour. The Race to Dubai is calculated in euros, although around half of the events have prize funds which are fixed in other currencies. In these instances the prize funds are converted into euros at the exchange rate for the week that the tournament is played.

In 2009 the Order of Merit was replaced with the 'Race to Dubai'. The season, instead of culminating at the Volvo Masters in Spain, now ends in Dubai in what is effectively the European Tour's version of the World Golf Championship. This year the Dubai Championship will carry prize money of $7.5 million and will take place at the start of December. It has rapidly become a huge betting market, particularly because the field for this final event is restricted to the top 60 players on the tour.

Bookmakers create many Golf betting markets for all of these events and Free bet facilities are available with them all.

The 2010 season saw Germany's Martin Kaymer succeed Lee Westwood as the Race To Dubai Champion. Kaymer won four times on the tour, including his first major win at the US PGA Championships.

Race To Dubai Odds

Odds courtesy of Sky Bet

Past Winners of the European Order of Merit